Skip to content

Thinking Sideways, and Current Progress

20 March, 2013

Not a ‘Writing Life’ post as such, this one, but I thought it was about time for an update on my current writing progress, and yet another project (this time a course) I’ve dived into.

First of all, Root, the novel I’m editing. I have to admit, my progress on this one has been almost painfully slow, but I’m generally pleased with how it’s going. I’ve been steadily chipping away, working from copious notes that mean I should be able to edit a chapter at a time and then call the whole thing done (fingers crossed). I’m at chapter 12 out of 38, and although some of the later chapters need a lot more work than the earlier ones, I’m at least happy with what I’ve done so far.

And now we come onto the new project. A couple of years ago, I did Holly Lisle’s ‘How to Revise Your Novel’ course, using it to revise a previous novel – I’m using those same lessons in revising Root, which is why the process has been so much more organised and thorough this time round. However, Holly has a number of different online courses available, and it’s her other big one – ‘How to Think Sideways‘ – that I’ve now enrolled on.

HTTS is subtitled ‘Career Survival School for Writers’, and sets out to teach you how to make a living out of writing, working on every stage from idea generation to publishing. My hope is that it’ll be a kick up the backside in terms of getting me to focus more on my writing, and a means of learning new techniques that’ll turn my frequent writing into frequently getting published. Whether it’ll have either of those desired effects in the long run, I can’t say, but I’m hopeful – and it’s nice to be so busy!

2 Comments
  1. Shane Peltzer permalink
    21 March, 2013 3:54 am

    Maybe it’s just me but 12 out of 38 chapters sounds pretty darn impressive to me. 😀

    • 22 March, 2013 3:04 pm

      Thanks Shane! I suppose it feels slow to me because I wrote the entire first draft of the novel in about three months… And now it’s taken me another three months just to edit a third of it!

Comments are closed.

