Skip to content

My NaNoWriMo Week Comes to an End

16 November, 2012

So, my five days of NaNoWriMo – all I’ve had time for this November – have come to an end. Tomorrow it’s back to work for me, and my writing time goes back to its usual limited self. So, what have I achieved in just five days?

I set out to write 10,000 words, at 2k a day. It was a big task, particularly as my daily word counts have been much lower than that of late. My final total is now in, though. Did I do it?

Yes, I did! I’ll admit, it’s been really quite tough for me to write so many words this week, particularly as I started yesterday with no clear idea of where the plot of my novella was going. Once I’d got that sorted though, it was full steam ahead, to the total you see there.

Will I be writing so much in a week again, any time soon? It’s unlikely, unfortunately. Only otherwise empty days give me the time to write 2k words. However, that 10k has been a great boost to a novella that had been moving very slowly previously, and I’m now confident I’ll be able to finish it before Christmas.

So, if you’re doing NaNoWriMo this year, in whole or – like me – in part: how are you getting on?

Comments are closed.

