Skip to content

My NaNoWriMo Solidarity Week

13 November, 2012

It’s NaNoWriMo this month, in which thousands of writers aim to write 50,000 words before the end of November. I’ve already said I’m not taking part this year, but as I have this week off work, I thought I’d get involved in a smaller way – hence my ‘solidarity week’.

Here’s the plan: 5 days, 10k words, and, of course, 2k words a day. That’s a bit above what NaNoWriMo-ers typically need to write (which is about 1667 words a day), but it’s a comfortable, yet challenging, pace for me, and will bring me to a nice round number by the end of the week.

I plan to keep updating about my word count throughout the week, so here are my stats as of Tuesday morning, on the project that is so far cryptically named ‘Alyx and the Wheel’ (I actually wrote this post yesterday, so this is just the count for Monday, before Tuesday’s words):

Not a bad start at all, I reckon, so let’s see how the rest of the week goes!

Comments are closed.

