Skip to content

Walking in the Peak District

15 August, 2012

Where my partner and I live, we’re lucky enough to be more-or-less on the doorstep of the beautiful Peak District. We’ve been trying to get out there more this summer, to go walking and exploring, and I thought I’d share a few of the photos.

[For anyone who lives in the vicinity of the Peaks, we’ve found this a useful website for walks.]

These are some of the hills above Wolfscote Dale, which remind me of similar countryside in the Yorkshire Dales, where I grew up. You might be able to get an idea from this photo just how changeable the weather was on this particular walk – we had glorious sunshine and blue skies one minute, and got absolutely soaked the next!

Here we have a pool in the Haywood, which we crossed by stepping stones…

…and on the same, very varied, walk, this is the view from the top of Curbar Edge, on a pleasant but hazy morning. This part of the walk reminded me a great deal of the Roaches, which we visited only a few months ago, on an equally pleasant but much clearer day.

 

2 Comments
  1. 16 August, 2012 4:53 pm

    Im nominating your BLOG for the Versatile Blog Award!

    • 22 August, 2012 1:09 pm

      Thank you, and I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the blog! 🙂

Comments are closed.

