Skip to content

The Shiny New PS Vita

19 June, 2012
tags:

As writers, when we talk about the New Shiny, we’re often referring to new projects, new ideas, and things we want to be working on when we really have better things to do. This week’s New Shiny in this household, though, is an actual object: a PS Vita!

Ok, so my photo is terrible, and is there mostly for anyone who doesn’t know what a Vita is. What it can’t do justice to is what a beautiful looking bit of kit the Vita is – it’s sturdy, well-designed, powerful and the screen is an absolute joy to use, whilst the combination of front touchscreen, rear touchscreen and most of the usual PlayStation buttons make it easy and mostly intuitive to use. I’ve been waiting to get my hands on one of these since about November last year, so to finally have one is brilliant, and I haven’t been at all disappointed.

There are a few cons, of course – it’s expensive, for one, and its proprietary memory cards are expensive, and its games are expensive… As a new console (it came out in Europe in February) there are also a limited number of Vita games available, although the number of download-only PSP games widen the field.

As for first impressions, there isn’t a lot more I can say that I haven’t already covered (and there are hundreds, if not thousands, of detailed reviews available online). There are a number of PSP games that I want to try, and I have a copy of the newly-released title Gravity Rush waiting at my local games shop. And the Vita itself? In the words of Ferris Bueller: ‘It is so choice. If you have the means, I highly recommend picking one up.’ I can’t say better than that.

Comments are closed.

