Skip to content

A Bit of Fantasy Nostalgia

8 February, 2012

For some reason, my partner and I have talked about Choose Your Own Adventure books (and their equivalents from other publishers) several times recently. We both seem to have had just one of these books each, which we remember fondly: his was from the Fighting Fantasy line, and mine… Well, until yesterday I couldn’t quite remember what it was called. I knew it was about a circus, with characters called Petra and something like Lila. It also had a pegasus in it, and owl bears. In a fit of nostalgia, I decided to try to find it online. The result? THIS:

Now, isn’t that an amazing piece of sheer 80s-ness, if ever there was one. Props to this site for full details of the book, which turns out to have been called ‘Circus of Fear’. It was actually part of the Dungeons & Dragons world, although I’d never heard of D&D at the time, and I don’t think I ever noticed their name on the book.

Now, I’m not recommending anyone go out and find a copy of this book – it was probably pretty cheesy even by 80s fantasy standards. Still, I’m struck by just how much I remember about it. The pegasus, the character names (the girl was actually ‘Laela’, but I was close), the owl bears, the circus, and that teardrop on the front cover, which I believe was a crystallised pegasus tear owned by the main character. I’m not going to claim that this book gave me my love of fantasy, either (that was Tolkien), but it must have been somewhere in the mix. I certainly loved it when I was little.

Really, this is nothing but a bit of nostalgia, so if anyone would like to add their childhood favourites in the comments (bonus points for 80s fantasy!), please do. On another note, I managed to dredge up the full listings of this book, the name of which I couldn’t previously remember, in about ten minutes flat. Isn’t it amazing what you can find on the internet?

One Comment
  1. 9 February, 2012 11:31 pm

    I had a few Indiana Jones like that.

Comments are closed.

