Skip to content

Goals for 2012

9 January, 2012

After looking back at 2011 over the last couple of posts, it’s time for me to look ahead. 2012 is before us, and now is the perfect time to make plans. These aren’t exactly resolutions, but more like goals – there are concrete steps I need to take to achieve them (and yes, I do have a lot of those steps mapped out, but I’m not going to go through them here). So, what are my goals?

  • Start submitting Sanguine. This is the novel I’ve been working on for several years now. The actual first draft only took a few months, but I’ve been editing it – on and off – ever since. I’ve now reached the point where I really can’t do any more, so my first priority is a final copy-edit to catch the last typos and infelicities, then sending it off to agents.
  • Finish Dust. This is the novel I started in the second half of 2011. I have about a third written, so I’m aiming to finish the last two-thirds by around June. Not much more to say about that: it’s a simple case of sitting down and hammering out the words. (Simple. Ha! That’s never simple, no matter how many times you’ve done it.)
  • Start… Something Else. Bit of a vague one, this. I have yet another novel in the planning stages, which is what I’ll probably work on once Dust is complete. Probably. Maybe. We’ll see.
  • Short stories. I always make goals regarding short stories – how many to write, how many to submit, how many of last year’s to edit – and I always fall flat on my face. I’m still planning to write more shorts this year, but this is the most nebulous of my goals. I’ll probably work on dozens, but I may well not finish a single one, and actually selling them is even less likely.
  • Reading. Actually, this might be my most nebulous goal: read more. More, more, more. I seem to have been reading even more slowly than usual this year. I usually aim for a book a week – which I was far behind in 2011 – so that will be 2012’s goal.

So, there are my goals for 2012, at least in reading and writing (I’m not counting the others, like learning to knit, and growing more veg, and doing more exercise). If you’ve got goals for the year ahead, feel free to share them in the comments. Sometimes, writing your goals – or resolutions, if your prefer – down is the first step to achieving them.

2 Comments
  1. 10 January, 2012 8:17 pm

    Best of luck with all of your goals, Amy, but especially with your process of starting to query and submit to agents! The first (and only, so far) time I went through trying to sell a novel was nearly two decades ago. So that world is a bit different now, though still similar in many ways, from what I’m gathering in my recent research. I’ve been away from writing for many years, but recently started to rework that very same novel, as I think I can do the story better justice now, and that world is still in my head. I haven’t set specific goals for the year, but I do plan to have this rewrite done, or very close to it. I’m looking forward to my next round of seeking an agent, and I’ll be cheering for you in the meantime!

    • 12 January, 2012 10:52 am

      Thanks, Joseph!
      As far as I can see, the querying process for agents hasn’t changed much in a long time. Most will now take electronic queries, but the query letters, synopses and the like are much the same as they’ve always been.
      I’ve queried agents a few times in the past, but never systematically, and never more than half a dozen times for a single novel. I’m trying to attempt it a bit more seriously this time, which is slightly terrifying!
      Good luck with your own writing, especially that rewrite. Rewrites are always the trickiest bit for me – I hope yours go a fair bit smoother!

Comments are closed.

