Skip to content

Writing in 2011

4 January, 2012

Inevitably, as one year slides into another, I find myself looking back at the year that’s just gone. How much work have I done? Have I accomplished everything I set out to do? What have I still not finished? (The answer to that one is always ‘a lot’, no matter what I’ve achieved beforehand.)

So, what about 2011? My final word count for the year was 155,389 words, which doesn’t sound bad, but is a long way from what I’d anticipated. Much of the year was taken up with editing – in fact, from February to July, my word count hardly rose at all, apart from a few short stories. The second half of the year saw the bulk of new work, with one novel started and 50k words written for NaNoWriMo. As for actually finishing things, I managed one first draft novel, one almost-almost-finished novel (I’m so close!), NaNoWriMo and more short stories than ever before, which I’m counting as an overall success.

Where does all this leave me? 2011 was a busy year, whether the word count reflects it or not, and I’ll be giving myself a (small) pat on the back for that. As ever though, I have multiple projects half-finished, and my goals for 2012 (coming in a later post) will reflect that. Can I beat 2011’s 155k words (or 2010’s 161k, for that matter) this year? I certainly hope so. Can I actually sell some fiction? That’s less certain, but I’m hoping for that even more.

2 Comments
  1. 4 January, 2012 5:07 pm

    Good luck!

  2. 4 January, 2012 8:17 pm

    I’d consider that a very good year!

Comments are closed.

