Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: Day 30 – Victory! (Or Not)

30 November, 2011

Well, the last day of NaNoWriMo has dawned, and this morning I wrote just over 1900 words to finish my NaNo 50k. Not to finish my novel, mind you – I still have maybe 10k words left to go on that front. Still, 50k words in a month is more than I’ve written in a long time, and it’s been brilliant to prove to myself I could do it.

I’m going to keep this post short, and lay the floor open to comments (I’ll post a more thorough follow up later in the week). Have you finished NaNoWriMo this year? Are you too far behind to catch up? How many words did you accomplish? Any word count is a victory over the zero you had at the start of the month, so share your counts and we’ll celebrate (or commiserate) together!

3 Comments
  1. 30 November, 2011 2:33 pm

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

  2. 30 November, 2011 5:51 pm

    Congratulations, Amy! That’s a huge accomplishment. I didn’t participate in NaNoWriMo because I’m absorbed in rewriting an old novel at present, but I really should do it next year to shake up my writing a bit. I’m sure I’d learn something, and that sense of achieving a difficult goal is certainly worthwhile! Well done!

    • 1 December, 2011 12:18 pm

      Thanks Joseph! I have an older novel that I need to finish editing in December, but NaNoWriMo has been an excellent chance to just put everything else aside for a while and get back to writing something new. It’s definitely worth trying if you have chance!

Comments are closed.

