Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: Day 18 – Falling Behind

18 November, 2011

I was, until about halfway through NaNoWriMo, completely on track. And then, of course, this week came along and hit me right between the eyes. Non-writing-related deadlines. Visits from family. Building work taking place in the living room. Just like three buses coming along at once, every delay decided to show up at the same time.

I now haven’t written anything on my novel for about three days. I suspect I’m somewhere in the region of 5-6k words behind. Admittedly, that’s not too much, but it’ll quickly mount up if I don’t get back to writing soon. Luckily, I should be able to do that this afternoon, and this weekend. I have, more or less, cleared the decks so that the last week of November can encompass writing and nothing else.

As ever, after a few days away, I’m really looking forward to getting back to work. At the same time, I’m looking forward to December and a chance for a rest (both from writing, and in the form of an actual holiday). Not that I’ll actually be able to go right through December without writing, but still…

So, how are everyone’s novels coming along, NaNo novels or otherwise? I need to see some big word counts and forward progress to inspire me to the same heights this weekend!

2 Comments
  1. 18 November, 2011 8:14 pm

    I’m about 8k behind. It’s okay, though. We can do it! 🙂

    • 19 November, 2011 11:38 am

      Yes, absolutely. The mad dashes seem to be what NaNoWriMo is all about!

Comments are closed.

