Skip to content

Freshly Pressed!

15 November, 2011

Well, this is quite a surprise! When I got to work last night and had a quick look at my inbox, I realised it was starting to overflow with notifications from WordPress. It took me a while to work out what was going on, and that I wasn’t just being flooded with spam – one of my posts had been chosen for Freshly Pressed!

So, thank you to WordPress for that, and thank you to everyone who’s stopped by, commented, followed the blog etc. etc. It’s great to see such an influx of people, even if it is a bit overwhelming. This is where I have a confession to make: my usual site stats for any single day that I make a post tend to be in the 10-20 views range. Tiny figures, because I’ve never made any effort to promote the site. Now? The last couple of days have accrued a cumulative 2000 views, which is really quite staggering!

This is, in some ways, an apology. I’ve been through and read every comment, and will continue to read them, but I’m well aware I’m not going to be able to reply to them all. I greatly appreciate them though, and it’s fabulous to see so many people chatting about writing and NaNoWriMo.

So, thank you everyone for dropping by. If you decide to stay and subscribe, what can you expect? I talk mostly about writing, and about fantasy/SF in particular, but I also post on anything else that takes my fancy. That could be books, gaming, films, gardening, photography, music, food or just what I did on my holidays. My regular series of posts is called ‘This Writing Life’, and talks about writing (naturally), usually in relation to my own work (and how it’s gone horribly wrong – or occasionally very right).

Finally, if – like me – you’re attempting NaNoWriMo this year: my diary tells me today is the halfway point. Good luck to everyone taking part, and keep up the good work!

6 Comments
  1. 15 November, 2011 3:11 pm

    Congrats! It was a great post and i’m now following!

  2. 15 November, 2011 5:45 pm

    Lovely to have found your blog on FreshlyPressed (and congrats!). The title is one of my favorite quotes (or my brother’s – applies well to him, haha).

    • 18 November, 2011 12:35 pm

      It’s definitely one of my favourite quotes too. And it feels particularly appropriate when I think how much wandering my writing has included!

  3. 16 November, 2011 1:24 pm

    Congratulations! Glad to have been introduced to your blog, and have just read and enjoyed several of your posts so far. Being a fantasy writer myself, I’m looking forward to following along with what you share here. And godspeed with your NaNoWriMo journey! All that is gold does not glitter . . .

    • 18 November, 2011 12:34 pm

      Thank you! Always good to meet a fellow fantasy writer. I’m glad so many people recognise the title of the blog, too. Every time I read it though, I get the sudden urge to rush off and read The Lord of the Rings all over again…

  4. 22 November, 2011 11:22 pm

    Congrats! And glad it let me to your site! (and don’t feel bad about being behind in NaNo– I’m only up to about 15k so far, so that means the last week is going to be murder 😉

Comments are closed.

