Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: Day 7 – Catching Up

7 November, 2011

This weekend was a bit of a strange one for me. Whereas most of my weekends are quiet, filled with gaming, reading and walks in the park, this Saturday I was in London for this. The concert itself was spectacular, but as ever, the journey to and from London involved five hours in the car, and a couple of hours on the Tube. Not much time for writing, in other words (it’s a source of constant frustration for me that, despite not driving myself, I can’t read or write in the car because of travel sickness. Bleurgh).

So, although I got some words down on Saturday morning, much of Sunday involved catching up on my word count. Now, on Monday morning, I’m up to just over 12,000 words overall, and back on track.

Looking at that figure is both amazing and terrifying. It’s been a long time since I’ve written so quickly – it almost feels like I can’t possibly have written so many words in a week. Perhaps someone else has been slipping into my office when I’m asleep and hammering out a few thousand words. Perhaps, when I read my novel back, I’ll find it was me writing in the dead of night, and that half my work is gibberish.

Okay, so neither of those is actually true, but seeing a novel grow so quickly is still exciting and strange. The fact that many writers complete 2k+ words every single day (I’ve heard of up to 10k a day, over a period of a couple of weeks) fills me with awe. For now though, I’m just going to stick to my 1700 words, and keep pushing to get my NaNoWriMo novel finished on time.

2 Comments
  1. 7 November, 2011 12:48 pm

    All the best with your novel, you seem to have picked up a really good pace.

  2. 15 November, 2011 4:59 am

    I haven’t attempted NaNoWriMo yet. I’m editing my first ms and have started a second. My schedule is too, too jumbled at the moment for the dedication required to be part of the contest. Maybe next time.

    However, good luck on your novel. Hang in there.

Comments are closed.

