Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: Day 3 – Feeling the Burn

3 November, 2011

After three days of NaNoWriMo my novel’s word count remains very much on track. I’m aiming for 1700 words a day, to comfortably finish by the end of November, so after three days I’ve just scraped past 5100 words. It’s not a bad total, not at all, and the whole process hasn’t entirely taken over my life. Yet.

Day 3, you see, is usually the point in any working week at which I start to slow down (although technically this is day 4, as I was working on a different novel on Monday). Today has been no exception. I’ve actually only written 1400 words this morning, meeting my target only because I did so well in days 1 and 2. I might still manage a few hundred more words this afternoon, but even so, writing so much is already starting to become harder.

There are a couple of reasons for this. One is that the planning for my novel marks out a number of key scenes and the points at which I need to hit them (a certain revelation at 30k words, for example). During today’s work though, I had no major scenes to hit and only a vague idea of how to move the story forwards, which has made writing much slower. The other is simply that I’m fairly tired, I’ve written a huge number of words this week, and my brain is slowing down. Hopefully, after having a chance for a rest at the weekend, I’ll be able to speed back up again next week.

All that remains to be seen now is which trend continues: the easy glide to 1700-1800 words every morning, or today’s slog just to inch towards my target?

2 Comments
  1. Brett James Irvine permalink
    4 November, 2011 9:14 am

    Congrats on keeping up so far. I go through the same motions: easy some days, quite difficult on others. If I’m really struggling, I’ll just go write another scene. It doesn’t have to be written from A-B, does it? Write the candy bar scenes, have fun with them, and then come back for the hard work later when you’re feeling more up for it.

    • 4 November, 2011 3:42 pm

      I certainly do jump ahead at times, when I have a great scene in mind. And I do try to plan out a number of interesting scenes before I start, because having something to write towards can be helpful.
      Sometimes though, I find that my best scenes evolve out of what has come before rather than what I’ve already planned. I don’t know if that’s because I’m getting to know my characters better… or if I just have a very linear brain!

Comments are closed.

