Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: Day 1 – And We’re Off!

1 November, 2011

Well, it’s about half past ten on the first day of NaNoWriMo and I’ve written a quite impressive 1900 words this morning. That’s about an hour and a half’s work (no midnight starts for me!) and I’m really pleased with it. This, I can already see, is the difference between a NaNo novel that I’ve properly planned out and one that I don’t have the faintest idea about.

Having said that, I do feel a bit as if I’ve just been shot out of a cannon. The first 1200 words were incredibly easy to write, and I barely had to stop to think at all. The next 700 were still fairly easy, but here my momentum was slowing down – I was reaching the apex of my curve. Now, although I’ve stopped writing for the day, I’m on the descent. Whether I’ll be able to pick that momentum back up again tomorrow remains to be seen. I may find – as I frequently do after one very successful writing day – that the next day continues the downward slide, and my writing pace dips far lower than usual.

Writing at this increased speed is very much an experiment for me, and after one day it’s hard to know how everything will pan out. How is the first day of your NaNoWriMo going – and did you start at midnight?

3 Comments
  1. 1 November, 2011 12:48 pm

    Congrats on your beginning! I also tend to struggle with having good days followed by really down days. Something I discovered that helps a lot is stopping my writing in the middle of a scene. That way, the next morning I don’t have to spend time wondering about where I will start. I can just jump in.

    Something to try, anyway. Best of luck!

    • 1 November, 2011 4:12 pm

      Hi Nicole!

      I’ve tried stopping in the middle of a scene a few times, and it has been very helpful, so I need to remember that as I press on with NaNoWriMo. I’ve also seen advice about stopping in the middle of a SENTENCE. I’ve tried that too, and was completely baffled when I came back the next day!

  2. 18 November, 2011 1:22 pm

    It comes and goes.
    You may find, that after the dip you have this rush of inspiration and knock out more than on your first day.
    You just warming up, remember that!

    Rich

Comments are closed.

