Skip to content

And So It Begins…

14 July, 2011

…my new novel, that is. Despite everything I’ve been telling myself about waiting to make a start on this new project, despite all the other things I really should get out of the way, despite all the extra research and planning I should do first… I have begun. And it feels great.

So far, I’ve got the first 1000 words of what will probably stretch to about the 120k mark. It’s a slow start, but one I’m pleased with. As for planning, I have a good idea of what will be in each first chapter for each of the POV characters (I’ve actually started with what I think will be the third chapter overall) and I know the beginning of all six (six! Yes, I know, this may be a vast and horrible mistake…) character arcs. And for the rest… Well, there’s that abyss I mentioned a couple of posts ago.

There’s nothing much to report at this stage, but I plan to post fairly regularly about this novel, including both what’s going well and what’s going wrong – and I do expect things to go wrong. They always do. Where would the fun be if they didn’t?

So it’s a new novel for me, and a slow but steady start. If you’re a writer, how is your latest work going? Comments, as always, are welcome – I know how much writers (including me, which is the whole point of this blog) love talking about their work, and I love to hear about it!

3 Comments
  1. 14 July, 2011 7:13 pm

    Congrats on starting a new work! It sounds like you went straight from the brainstorming into actual writing. That’s fantastic.

    I’m working on novel #3, and it’s way different than anything I’ve ever written. For one thing, I have an outline! And it’s historical fiction. And there’s a lot of plot (unlike my previous two novels). I’m about halfway through writing the first draft. This week I paused to go back to the beginning to get a little clearer about my character’s motivations. I’m hoping to submit half the novel to my critique group this fall, so that’s another reason I opted to read through what I have so far. It’s not really a revision, but it’s been a lot of fun to see that what’s in my head is actually on the page for the most part.

    Good luck moving forward!

    • 18 July, 2011 2:21 pm

      Hi, Laura! Yes, I did – more or less – go straight from brainstorming to writing. That brainstorming gave me a bit of an idea how the novel was going to start and end, though, even if it’s only half an outline.

      I’ve always written with some kind of outline, but this is the first time I’ve attempted historical (fantasy) fiction. So much research! It’s frustrating having to keep stopping to look things up, but getting the details right is giving me a firmer grasp on how the novel should progress.

      Good luck with your own novel!

      • 18 July, 2011 7:51 pm

        Historical (fantasy) fiction sounds fascinating! I’m writing historical fiction for the first time and have also had to figure out how much research to do while writing, versus just writing and cleaning up the facts later. And I also started this novel with half an outline, but the rest of it has filled in now that I’m halfway through the first draft.

        I look forward to hearing about your progress!

Comments are closed.

