Skip to content

Meet Appa! (and my Cuddly Toy Obsession)

1 March, 2011

A few weeks ago, my partner and I rented a copy of the film The Last Airbender. I was… a bit disappointed. The special effects were good, but the acting wasn’t great, the limited martial arts were filmed badly (for someone who watches a lot of martial arts films, anyway) and the script was frankly terrible. However, undeterred, I decided to watch a few episodes of the original Avatar TV show. Now, this was more like it! Bearing in mind that it is a kids’ show, the scripts were still better – and much funnier – and the fight scenes more interesting. Even better, the character of Appa (and I do consider him a character) had more parts.

Now, Appa in the show is a giant flying bison, ridden by the human characters to travel from place to place. Immediately, I saw what I’d already guessed from the film: Appa is so CUTE! I have a real obsession with cute animals of all shapes and sizes, and I have an equal obsession with cute cuddly toys (when I was little, I never much played with dolls, but I did have half a wardrobe full of stuffed animals – and still do). As I write this, I have a toy leopard and rat on my desk, with two teddies, a reindeer, a penguin and a Moogle on the bookshelf behind me.

So, having seen Appa in the programme, I decided I’d look online for a plushie version of him. This turned out to be harder than I expected. The show hasn’t been on TV for several years and the film didn’t do very well. There were also several versions of the Appa toys, in varying sizes – and wildly varying qualities. Finally though, thanks to an American eBay seller, I found a mint condition, 20″ Appa plushie. I clicked ‘Buy It Now’, I paid, I obsessively checked the tracking information (which only showed the package in the US, so I hadn’t even realised it had left the country) and I waited. And now, finally, the moment I’ve been waiting for: Appa has arrived!

Now for the moment I’m sure you’ve been waiting for (if you’ve read this far): PICTURES!

Here he is, the wonderful Appa. Soft, squishie and just as cute as the original (although he does look a bit gruff in the top photo, but he is a bison so that’s only to be expected). And, as you can see from the second picture, pretty damn huge; he’s sitting on a massive Collins dictionary that I can only just lift with one hand.

The only probably now is where in the house Appa is going to live. I have a lot of cuddly toys and a real lack of shelf space… But such things are always secondary considerations when it comes to cute things. Suffice to say, Appa will find a loving home in my already crowded office, and be one more animal for me to talk to when my plots aren’t working!

10 Comments
  1. 3 March, 2011 5:06 am

    If my daughter sees this, I’ll be having to go buy her one. Have to say he is seriously cute, though, and very accurate to the original. In fact, I might have to go get one anyway.

    • 3 March, 2011 10:17 am

      He is very cute indeed and surprisingly accurate. The same can’t be said for all the Appa toys out there, unfortunately. In my searching, I came across a plastic version with a strange, black, semi-human face, which was actually very creepy!

  2. Thomas Forsdike permalink
    25 March, 2011 6:05 am

    As a fan of anime, though I haven’t watched this series, I have to say this is pretty cool.

    I almost tried the same thing from one of my fav animes, Princess Mononoke, back when I first saw it. I would love to have Yakul, a red elk, or one of the giant wolves, in plush or as a figurine.

    http://www.flixster.com/photos/princess-mononoke-san-and-ashitaka-4407779

    These critters are a good inspiration for me as well.

    • 25 March, 2011 10:46 am

      Yakul is great. I seem to remember a similar creature from the Ghibli version of Earthsea, but I can’t remember what it was called.

      I also love those little white kodama from Princess Mononoke, although I don’t know if I’d want one sitting on my desk, staring at me. They’re cute, but also a bit creepy!

      • Thomas Forsdike permalink
        25 March, 2011 4:37 pm

        lol, I was thinking the same thing. Cute but it’s a somewhat creepy part of the movie. They’d make great bobbleheads.

  3. Emily permalink
    31 May, 2011 7:51 pm

    Oh I really want this Appa plushie! Where on earth did you buy him from?!

    • 2 June, 2011 10:24 am

      Hi Emily,

      My lovely Appa was imported from the US via eBay. They still come up for sale every now and again, but they’re getting quite expensive now. Which is why I took the chance to get one while I still could!

  4. Laura permalink
    11 August, 2011 11:34 pm

    I also have an Appa and I adore him! He is my bed partner substitute when my boyfriend is not here! Sad, I know from a woman of 30! ha ha!

  5. maipura permalink
    14 August, 2012 5:03 am

    waaa… i like appa to… but it’s very difficult to find that toys in here, in Indonesia 🙂

    • 15 August, 2012 1:12 pm

      I think it’s getting difficult to find Appa toys anywhere these days, which is why this one had to be an import from America. Good luck in your search though!

Comments are closed.

