Skip to content

January Update

28 January, 2011

As January is drawing to a close, I thought it might be a good time to give an update on my progress this month. I’ve just been looking at my list of 2011 goals, and I think I’ve been sticking pretty close to what I need to do to achieve them.

I finished the first draft of a novel just a couple of weeks ago now, which was a big chunk of work out of the way. I’m pressing on with the editing of my other novel, too, and am up to the stage of actually rewriting/cutting the book (and some of that is literally cutting: taking pages of manuscript apart and sticking them back together again). As for short stories, I’ve been working on editing a couple of those from last year. I should perhaps be trying to finish one before I work on the other, but I’m not sure how much of a difference it makes either way in terms of productivity.

As for reading… Well, I don’t feel like I’ve been reading as much as I’d like. I’m aiming to read roughly a book a week, and I’m lagging behind there. I’ve read a couple of books during January, but I’m now halfway through two more, both of which are very long and slow, and will probably drag through a good chunk of February. Both are books that I want to finish though, so all I can do is not worry about how slowly I’m reading them.

So far, I’m finding my biggest challenge this year is fitting everything in. I seem to have piled a lot of work on top of myself, which would be fine if I didn’t have a job, or hobbies, or a need to exercise, or a blog to keep up with. None of which are things that I want to (or can) drop.

Looking ahead to February, the most useful thing I can do is just keep going. This should be made easier by the fact that I’m working fewer extra shifts. I just have to remember not to take on any more writing work, either. How long will I keep that resolution? Knowing me, not long at all, and I’ll be in just the same position come the end of next month!

Comments are closed.

