Skip to content

Writing Goals for 2011

10 January, 2011

After my last two posts, rounding up my writing and reading in 2010, it’s time for me to go into my writing goals for this year. I made these a few days ago, to help me focus on what I need to be working on, so here they are.

  • Finish the first draft of the novel-in-progress by the end of February. This one is looking easily achievable, as I’ve probably only got about 10k words left to do and I’ve outlined right to the end.
  • Finish editing my last novel. I’ve been following Holly Lisle’s ‘How To Revise Your Novel’ course but made the mistake of not focussing on it exclusively. This is the second of the major pieces of work that I’ve still got hanging from last year and which I really want to be finished with now.
  • Start submitting the edited novel to agents (once it’s finished, clearly). There may well be another round of beta reading and minor editing before this, but that will depend how the current edits go.
  • Write three short stories and edit two more from last year. That doesn’t sound like a lot of work, but I’m incredibly slow when it comes to planning and editing short stories, so I’m not setting my sights too high. Once these are finished, I’ll start submitting them to magazines or anthologies, depending on which is most appropriate at the time.
  • Research and develop two potential new novel ideas. I’ve already got these two ideas in my head and can’t decide which it work on next, as they’re so incredibly different. My plan is to do some preliminary development on both, write a short story in each world and then decide which I prefer. And after that…
  • …start writing a new novel, hopefully by July at the latest.

After that, my year is a bit hazy and will depend on what happens with submissions/new ideas/life in general. Still, it’s nice to know what I should be doing at the moment, and I’ll re-evaulate these goals come the summer.

2 Comments
  1. 11 January, 2011 2:11 pm

    Looks like a good plan for the first 6 months! adjust and/or improvise in the second half of the year…
    Happy writing!

    • 13 January, 2011 10:16 am

      Absolutely! I tried coming up with plans for the second half of the year… But too many things could change before then. I think it’s a good idea to re-evaluate writing goals every few months. It keeps me on track, anyway!

Comments are closed.

