Skip to content

Writing in 2010

7 January, 2011

So, 2011 is upon us and it’s time for me to start blogging again. I had meant to get to this sooner, but getting back into the rhythm of my novel proved harder than I expected and took up a couple of days of brain power. I thought I’d start the new year with a quick look back at 2010, both in terms of my writing and the books I’ve read. First up: writing.

I wrote a grand total of 161,124 words of fiction in 2010 (not counting blog posts or anything online). Put like that, it sounds a great deal and I would be lying if I said I wasn’t pleased. However, that works out at only 441 words a day, which sounds much less impressive.

Looking at my notes, I spent the first few months of the year working on the start of one novel, then most of May working on the start of a different one. Neither went very far, although at least the second is something I plan to go back to, in a revised form. In June, I finally started working on the novel that I’m close to completing. Dotted throughout the year are various periods of anything up to two weeks in which I was working on short stories, one of which will be coming out in an e-anthology this year (more on that in a later post). There are also considerable periods when I wasn’t writing anything at all, which is something I’m aiming to change this year.

Is any of this stats evaluation of interest to anyone but myself? Probably not, but it’s something I like to do anyway. It’s been interesting and heartening to see how much work I’ve actually done this year, but it’s also highlighted where I need to improve and what my goals for 2011 should be (another post on that coming up).

All in all, 2010 was a good year for writing, but not a very good year for finishing and submitting things. Which is exactly where my priorities should lie next year.

Comments are closed.

