Skip to content

NaNoWriMo and My Own 150k Words

30 November, 2010

Firstly, it’s the last day of November, which means it’s also the last day of NaNoWriMo. I just want to say ‘good luck’ to everyone who’s ploughing through to the end of their 50,000 words today. Also congratulations to anyone who’s finished already!

On the subject of large word counts, I appropriately enough passed one of my own this morning. I hadn’t set myself any targets for a yearly word count in 2010, but this morning I passed the 150k word mark. That comprises most of one novel, the beginnings of two others and a few short stories. There was a point in the middle of the year when I didn’t think I was ever going to reach 100k, so I’m pleased with how much harder I’ve been working in the second half of 2010.

Whilst this is an important milestone, the year isn’t over yet and I’ve still got a lot to do. The novel in progress is at 77k words this morning and I know, more or less, how the last 25k words are going to go. Just knowing the rest of the plot is a huge relief, even though I still have to write those words.

Now, because my brain is a bit fried from a full morning of writing and editing, I’m going to finish this post and take a break. To everyone who’s still working hard on NaNoWriMo: good luck! You can do it!

Comments are closed.

