Skip to content

Getting Back Up To Speed

1 November, 2010

It’s been a bit quiet around here lately, as for the last week I’ve been away from home. Whilst it was lovely to have what I consider a well-deserved rest, now that I’m back home, I find myself floundering a bit. I have so many projects on the go, in various stages of completion and I simply don’t know what to work on next. So, here’s the list, starting with things I’ll be aiming to have finished by the end of the year:

  • The novel in progress. I’m at 68k words, with perhaps 30k to go (although I tend to write sketchy first drafts, so it could well come in closer to 80-90k to start with).
  • The novel edits. I’m at week 13 of 22 in Holly Lisle’s ‘How To Revise Your Novel’ course. Having said that, some ‘weeks’ only take me a few days, whilst I spend months on others, so I can’t be sure exactly how long this is going to take.
  • Two short stories, for open anthologies. Both of these need to be submitted by the end of the year. For one I have a fairly clear idea what I want to write, but the other is still a bit vague. I’d love to have the time to write both and that’s what I’ll aim to do, but at the very least I’ll just write the one I’m certain about.

Then there’s the ‘to be started this year but finished next year’ project, which is actually a proof-reading course that I’ve decided to take. I haven’t yet decided how I’m going to fit this work in around my writing, but the course guidelines suggest spending a couple of hours a week on it. Put like that, it doesn’t sound like much, so I might set aside a single afternoon a week to work on it.

Finally, there’s the ‘what comes next’ project. I think I’ve worked out roughly what my next novel is going to be, so in any spare time, I’m going to be doing a bit of planning and research for that. I’m in no hurry to actually start writing though, as the details are extremely vague and I think this has got to be the most ambitious thing I’ve ever considered writing. I’m calling it a semi-historical, Dark Age British fantasy at the moment and, whilst I’m very excited about it, I’m also incredibly scared. Still, there isn’t the faintest chance I’ll have time to work on it before everything else I’ve listed, so I’ll mostly be adding ideas to my notes when they occur to me and not much else.

And that’s it. Apologies for what is a fairly dry post, but I have to do these sometimes to keep myself on track. When everything’s written down, it’s nowhere near as vast and terrifying as it felt to be half an hour ago, which is definitely a good thing.

Comments are closed.

