Skip to content

What I’m Juggling

15 September, 2010

This is just going to be a quick update post and something of a to-do list for myself as well. I’ve pretty much swamped myself in work at the moment, but sometimes it’s good to get everything down in a list and take a good look at it.

  • The novel I’m writing. I’m continuing with my 1000 words a day goal here, with a deadline of 31st October. The deadline remains possible, but I can’t afford to take more than a couple of days off between here and then.
  • The novel I’m editing. I’m hoping to have the edits done by the end of the year and I’ve certainly been working on them more quickly over the past few weeks. Still, I’m not setting myself a definite deadline, as I really have no idea how much longer it’s going to take.
  • The short story I’m writing. I’m also hoping to start writing a short story this week, for submission to an anthology. My deadline is the 1st October, as whilst the anthology may remain open to submissions until November, the start of October is the last definite date that they’ll still be open. I’ve got a plan for this story but no words down yet.
  • Reading/reviewing. I’ve been trying to keep up with my reading this week and I’ve just had a book arrive in the post for review (through the LibraryThing Early Reviewers programme – I get perhaps four or five things to review a year, most of them electronic, so not a huge number). I’m hoping to get the review book read over the weekend as it’s a short one, but the reading is having to be squished round all my other deadlines at the moment.

And there you have it. To say I’m not making any money out of this, I think I expend more effort on the writing side of my life than I do in my day-job!

Comments are closed.

