Skip to content

Writing Goals for the end of 2010

28 July, 2010

With the success of my write-a-short-story-in-ten-days challenge, I’ve been thinking about what other goals I’d like to set for myself, and this time I’m thinking bigger. I have, after all, one novel in progress and another that I’m editing. Then, perhaps foolishly, it occurred to me that I might like to try NaNoWriMo again this year. I was a winner in 2007 but haven’t attempted it again since – this year feels like a good year to try.

So, one novel to finish, one to edit and a NaNoWriMo novel. How am I going to fit all that in? Here are the concrete goals I’m setting for myself.

  1. The novel.  I’m 16k into this with just over 3 months until November, when NaNoWriMo arrives. That means, to reach my target of 100k, I’m going to have to write about 1000 words a day until November.
  2. The other novel.  With the edits, I don’t feel compelled to finish before November. The process as a whole is starting to drag on though, so I’d ideally like to have the edits finished by the end of the year. For my tangible goal, I want to work on the edits for an hour a day, at minimum (just to clarify, I’m working through Holly Lisle’s How To Revise A Novel Course, which is very thorough and pretty time-consuming. An hour a day for the rest of the year really isn’t as much overkill as it might appear).
  3. The NaNoWriMo novel.  So far this is just a nebulous idea somewhere in the distant future, something that I’ll think about more closely in a couple of months time. Still, it provides something to reach for – NaNoWriMo is great fun, but I don’t want to start it unless my other novel draft is out of the way. Which is where those 1k words a day come in.

So, there are my goals for the last five months of 2010. 1000 words a day. An hour of editing. Then, in November, 50k words on an entirely fresh novel. Looks like it’s going to be a busy year!

2 Comments
  1. 29 July, 2010 2:06 pm

    cheering for you! Writing the goals down will help you achieve them!
    Happy writing!

    • Amy permalink*
      29 July, 2010 4:02 pm

      Thanks Barb! I’m certainly hoping that writing them down will help me, and that I achieve them!

Comments are closed.

