Skip to content

‘The Magicians’ and Word Metrics 18/01/10

18 January, 2010

First up, I wanted to mention a book I finished recently: ‘The Magicians’ by Lev Grossman. (Incidentally, I’m not planning to use this blog for full reviews, but I will mention books I enjoyed or found interesting.) The Magicians is something of a mix of Harry Potter, Narnia and modern American college life. There’s magic and other worlds, but also sex and alcohol and a group of teenagers/20-somethings who don’t know what they want out of life and are facing a lifetime without purpose.

It’s an interesting book and one which displays a sense of wonder and a very depressing view of becoming an adult in equal measure. It’s not always a likeable book and neither are the characters, but despite the bleakness, it’s incredibly compelling.

On a final note, why is it that when fantasy and SF makes it into a more ‘literary’ book, it’s always so grim? I can’t think of a single SF novel that’s made it into the General Fiction section of the bookshop where I work without being about a dystopian future. I don’t read a lot of lit. fic. but I get the impression it’s all very depressing.
.
..

Now, briefly, some word metrics. I’ve gone back to a novel that I abandoned before Xmas, which stands at this:

My current total for the year comes to 5025. Yeah, that’s a truly pathetic amount but I’m working on it. It’s taken me three days, but I’m finally decided which of my many projects I’m going to work on until completion. Now that I’ve made the decision, I can press on and stop dithering.

And with that said, time to get back to work.

Comments are closed.

