Skip to content

Avatar: My Thoughts

11 January, 2010
tags: ,

Like most of the rest of the world, it seems, I went to see Avatar recently. Although I don’t really feel that a full review from me would add anything new to all the other things that have been said about this film, I thought I’d just post a few of my thoughts.

Story: Predictable. I’d actually avoided finding out anything about the story before I saw the film, so I didn’t know anything in advance, but I think I’d worked out the end within the first half hour. I wasn’t particularly bothered by that as there were other things to hold my attention, but it would have been nice to have been surprised once or twice.

Themes: Again, fairly predictable. Still, I don’t think Avatar handled its themes, like environmental destruction, any worse than other films I’ve seen. It wasn’t exactly subtle, nor was the distinction between the good guys and the bad guys, but again, that didn’t really spoil the film.

Visuals: Let’s face it, this is what Avatar was all about. They were, overall, as stunning as I’d expected (except a single scene of the army commander in his mech thingy, quite near the start – he looked Photoshopped in there, and badly). The landscapes, the characters and the critters were all beautiful and a real joy to watch. However, they weren’t quite as original as I’d expected. The army vehicles could have been straight out of Halo or similar, whilst the landscapes reminded me strongly of the Myst series of games, what with the giant mushrooms and glowy plants and giant trees. (Incidentally, I think this is the first film I’ve seen where the imagination and care that went into the visuals finally matched up to the imagination that’s going into the current generation of games. There are some truly stunning visuals in games both new and old, but films rarely live up to them.) Still, Avatar is a fantastic looking film and hopefully it will pave the way for other fantastic looking fantasy films in the future.

All in all, Avatar is definitely worth seeing, if just to see what all the fuss is about – and plenty of that fuss is justified. Don’t expect it to surprise you or make you think all that much, but honestly, I don’t think that’s what this film is about. It’s beautiful and – if you’re a big softie like me – it might even make you cry a little.

4 Comments
  1. 20 January, 2010 12:25 am

    OH crud! i just typed a nice comment and as soon as i submitted it it come up blank! Please tell me it worked properly? I do not want to sumit it again if i do not have to! Either the blog bugged out or i am just stuipd :), the latter doesnt surprise me lol.

    • Amy permalink*
      20 January, 2010 6:14 pm

      Brian – I’ve checked my comment queue but there’s nothing showing up. Sorry, looks like there was a bug somewhere along the line. Feel free to try again!

  2. 11 March, 2010 8:00 am

    Yea the story is famaliar… but it was done in the most beautiful manner

    The simplest things must be done with much dedication for it to turn out good

    I loved the film, glad that you enjoyed it too 🙂

    • Amy permalink*
      14 March, 2010 10:34 am

      That’s very true – the dedication that had gone into making Avatar was clear and the result was a beautiful film. Which I think was Avatar was all about, far more than its story.

Comments are closed.

