Skip to content

Evernote: A great tool for writers

12 December, 2008

With my recent switch to Linux, which I talked about in my last post, I’ve been forced to search again for a lot of software that I was using on my old laptop. I had a number of different writing and note-making programs, none of which will work on Linux. In my quest for the ultimate note software however, I have rediscovered Evernote, which may not have a Linux desktop application but does work really nicely in Firefox.

I say rediscovered because I did briefly use an older version of Evernote on my old laptop. but ended up abandoning it in favour of other programs. Now however, Evernote has been upgraded and has become an even more useful tool for writers. Why is that? The best way to illustrate is probably using an example:

Say I come across a useful writing article or piece of research whilst browsing the internet. With the Evernote clipper extension installed in Firefox, I can click the handy button at the top of my screen (with a picture of an elephant on it, appropriately enough) and the text I’ve selected, or even the entire page, can be saved to Evernote.

In my case, I can view all my saved bits and pieces by logging into the Evernote website. Alternatively, Windows and Mac users can download a desktop client so that their notes are available offline. I think there’s even a mobile web service, but seeing as I’ve never even seen an iPhone or equivalent in the flesh (not many people in my circle of studenty friends can afford that sort of thing, not surprisingly), I can’t really comment on that.

Overall, it’s a simple idea, which Evernote executes nicely. It’s surprising how much time you can save with it, rather than copying and pasting internet research material into a word document or other program.

I’m aware that I’ve barely scratched the surface of what Evernote offers. It can hold pictures, handwritten notes and all sorts of other media, for example. The easiest way to find out more is, of course, to click that link higher up the page and watch some of the introductory videos that are on the Evernote site. If you’re a writer or just someone who finds the need to save disparate bits of information culled from all over the internet, I recommend taking a look.

One Comment
  1. 2 August, 2011 7:38 am

    Hi Amy,

    We’ve developed a similar application, but dedicated exclusively for writers (which means we are going to develop it further in this direction). When you have time, please take a look and let me know what do you think about it.

    Thanks,
    Laurentiu

Comments are closed.

