Skip to content

What I’ve Been Up To This Week

23 November, 2008

As you may already know, I’m not keen on posting the minutiae of my life on the internet. What I do love to do, however, is spread some love for the great things I’ve been listening to, reading and generally enjoying. So, what’s in that list this week?

What I’ve been reading: At the start of the week, I finished Tithe by Holly Black, which was really enjoyable, even though it wasn’t quite what I was expecting. I thought Kaye was a great character and the fey world she was drawn into was fascinating. Now though, I’m reading Night Life by Caitlin Kittredge, what I’d describe as an urban fantasy/supernatural mystery. Well, something like that anyway. The genres within fantasy have always been pretty silly. Anyway, I’ve gone from one feisty heroine to another this week. Luna, the star of Night Life, is a werewolf cop and one of the most engaging, genuinely kick-ass women I’ve come across in fiction in a long time. She don’t take shit from nobody. Ok, enough of the terrible attempt at smack-talking. Suffice to say, I’m really enjoying this book.

What I’ve been listening to: Nothing new, unfortunately. I’ve dug out my Opeth CDs though, after seeing them live last night. Once again, they confirmed why they’re pretty much my favourite band. Mmm, Opeth. Oh, and The Dead Robots’ Society writing podcast. If you’re into writing and podcasts but you haven’t listened to this one yet, you should really give it a go.

What I’ve been working on: I’ve finally started editing my latest novel, so most of my writing time has been spent sat in front of a massive stack of pages, scribbling all over them and generally ripping them apart. There’s something strangely therapeutic about putting a big line through half a page at a time and knowing that you’re never going to have to go back to it again. Other than that, I’ve been making slow progress on another new novel. (I should probably give these code names or something; just saying ‘new novel’ is getting confusing.) So, progress has been made, but it’s slow.

What I’ve been playing: Descent 3. Which is almost 10 years old now, but in terms of flying around and shooting things, it’s still a pretty good game and one which doesn’t make my laptop implode when I try to run it. Plus, I didn’t actually finish it the first time I played it, probably back when it first came out. Hopefully it’ll be second time lucky.

And I think that’s it for now. Word counts will be coming soon, as will some more meaningful posts about the editing process that I’m working my way through. For now though, good luck for the final week if you’re doing NaNoWriMo. And for everyone else… Er, happy last week of November!

Comments are closed.

