Skip to content

And It Happened Again…

22 October, 2008

Yes, I have once again managed to abandon this blog as real life got in the way. I don’t really have an excuse, other than terminal busy-ness – a dissertation to write, a handful of other essays, seminars and presentations, keeping up with fiction writing and reading and even occasionally getting some time to myself. Still, I’m starting to miss having somewhere to splurge my thoughts on writing, so this blog needs to be officially resurrected. As such, an update:

  • The novel I’m working on passed 60k words just a couple of days ago. I’m thrilled that I’m finally creeping towards the end, but worried about finishing because the editing process is going to be huge. A lack of planning meant that I changed my mind numerous times about what was going on in the book as I was writing it, so the whole thing is going to have to be ripped apart. Several bits will need completely rewriting, others will need extensive editing and I think I need to add in a whole new sub-plot to draw everything together. It’s going to be hard work, but it’s practice at editing that I really need at the moment.
  • In other writing news, I have two new novel ideas floating around in my head (and in the process of being better planned than the one I’m currently writing) alongside a half-finished short story and another short that is waiting to be written.
  • In terms of photography, nothing much has happened recently, which is a shame because we’re having a pretty gorgeous autumn. I’m having a short break in York at the start of November though, which should be a chance to get some photos taken.
  • The only game I’m really playing at the moment is my beloved Guild Wars, but I’m trying to restrict my gaming time as I’ve got so much other stuff to do.

And that’s it for now.

Comments are closed.

