Skip to content

Dofus 2.0

29 August, 2008

It’s been a while since I’ve really talked about my love of gaming, so I thought it was time to slot in a post about my MMORPGing activities. (On a side note, I realise that many of the people who read this blog do so because of my musings on writing, which is what I mainly blog about. I do have other passions though, which is why I sometimes like to write about them too. If you’re not interested in gaming, that’s fair enough: just skip this post.)

Recently I’ve started playing a MMORPG called Dofus again. It’s been a while since I’ve played, but the low system requirements, low subscription cost (or even option not to subscribe at all) and relaxing gameplay style keep me coming back. Dofus is a cartoony, Flash-based game with instanced, turn-based combat. It also incorporates the more traditional elements of MMORPGs, having a number of different classes to choose from, a massive world map, both PvE and PvP, loads of different armours to collect and mounts (which I think are newly introduced).

I’ve chosen today to blog about Dofus because I recently came across something interesting on their website: the introduction of Dofus 2.0, coming soon. I’ve played a number of online games that have been through similar upgrades, but this one has me intrigued, as it’s occurring on a game I really enjoy. The upgrades seem to involve rebuilding the game from the ground up, improving the graphics and performance, whilst retaining the original gameplay and, most importantly, players’ characters.

Will this upgrade be a success? That’s difficult to say. Most MMORPGs have so many slightly-obsessive fans that even the most minute change to the game can upset them. Personally though, I think this is going to turn out to be a great improvement to an already enjoyable game and I’m really looking forward to seeing how it turns out.

Comments are closed.

