Skip to content

What I’ve Been Playing/Reading/Writing etc. etc.

4 July, 2008

Over the last couple of days, I haven’t found time to blog properly, so tonight I’m just going to provide a general update of what I’ve been up to and hopefully get back to something more interesting over the weekend.

  • What I’ve been playing: Pokemon Pearl, which arrived in the post around lunchtime, so I’ve been glued to my Nintendo DS for much of the afternoon. So far it’s pretty much as I expected, which is just fine, as it’s nostalgia for playing Pokemon Yellow that spurred me to buy this new one. I’ll hopefully get a few more thoughts up when I’ve got further into the game.
  • What I’ve been reading: Currently Neuromancer by William Gibson, which I’ve been told is an SF classic. I’ve read less classic SF than I have fantasy, but I’m really enjoying it so far. The prose is very taut and it seems as if every unnecessary word has been chopped out. There’s a lesson that more writers should take note of.
  • What I’ve been writing: All I’ll say is that it’s a secret project and that I’m 7500 words into an estimated 80,000. Unusually for me, I haven’t planned much for this one so I’m pretty much just taking it scene by scene. To be honest, I’m not sure how it’s going to pan out, but I’ll keep you posted!
  • Other things I’ve been doing: Having picnics in the park, enjoying the sun, cooking, organising, starting to see the point in both FaceBook and Twitter.

And final thoughts… Well, it’s my 21st birthday on Thursday, so I’m probably not going to be around much over the next week. (Exacerbated by the fact that I’m going to visit my parents next week, who have no internet because they’ve just moved house – I’m using the trip as a ‘writing retreat’, which I’ll talk more about tomorrow.)

To all those who celebrate the 4th July, hope you’re having a great day. And even for those of us who don’t, here in the UK, the weather’s been fantastic today and that’s reason enough to celebrate!

One Comment
  1. emw771 permalink
    4 July, 2008 8:32 pm

    Interestig Blog! I’ll keep reading!

Comments are closed.

