Skip to content

The Times That Remind Me Why I Write

19 June, 2008

These last couple of days have been pretty good for me, writing-wise. Although my actual page count hasn’t been huge, the simple act of writing recently has reminded me why I bother to do it. Put simply, it’s been going really, really well.

These are the sort of days that I look forward to. Days when the words just flow. Days when I know that what I’m writing is pretty damn good. Days when I don’t put down the pen even when my hand starts to ache, because I just want to get the words down on paper right then.

Of course, when I look back at what I’ve written, I won’t be able to tell from the words alone whether they came easily or whether I struggled over them. Strangely, having the words flow doesn’t seem to make the end result read any better when it comes time for revisions. Luckily though, that doesn’t make the enjoyment of writing any less.

Perhaps even stranger is the fact that trying to write about this feeling is remarkably difficult. It seems to be just one of those things you’ve got to experience to understand. And even though I have experienced it, trying to explain it to an outside observer is nigh impossible.

I realise this is a short post compared to my usual outpost, but that’ll have to do for today. I hope you’re all feeling as good about your writing as I am. In fact, if you are, why not leave a comment on this entry to let me know? Share the love, and all that!

Comments are closed.

