Skip to content

What I’m Working On

14 June, 2008

I realise that this post is unlikely to be of interest to anyone other than myself, but I’m putting it up here just in case. At the very least, it will help me get my thoughts in order and sort out where my priorities need to be over the next few months.

I’ve got a lot of writing projects on the go at the moment, in various degrees of completion.

  • Most importantly is the YA fantasy novel that I’m working on. I’m not terribly far into it and progress is steady, as I’ve chosen to write longhand for once, but I’m pleased with what I’ve got so far. Even better, at the point I’m at now, things are just about to get very interesting indeed and the coming chapters are going to be great fun to write. I’m hoping to have the first draft finished by the end of September and will do if I write every day.
  • Secondly is a SF short story, tentatively titled Talking to the Stars. I think I’m still under 1,000 words on this one. The subject matter is very different to anything I’ve attempted before: it’s very introspective and slow paced. Whether it will ever see the light of day is still a grey area, but I’m enjoying the challenge.
  • I also have ideas for various other short stories, but they’re little more than ‘ideas to be written at some point in the future’ so far.
  • Finally, there’s the possibility of a graphic novel which I’m going to be working on with my boyfriend. We’ve talked over some ideas, so the next step will be for him to do some concept art and me to get some research done so I can develop a plot/characters/world and all the rest of it. I’d like to start the script this summer, but that may just not be feasible. Basically, there’s no rush with this project but it is something to look forward to.

And that’s it, apart from the planning and reading for my dissertation.

On a final note, I’m turning off comments on this entry as it’s more for my own benefit than anything else.

Comments are closed.

