Skip to content

Writing: Background

5 May, 2008

I’ve been debating all day what to put in this post. There are a lot of other blogs out there about writing, many by writers with far more experience than myself. I could still give you my musings on the craft/art of writing, but that seems a bit pretentious for my first post on the subject. Instead, here’s some background info.

I started writing back when I was about 6, inspired by my first attempt to read The Lord of the Rings (I got halfway through). At that age, I had no concept of genre, which isn’t really surprising. For years, I tried my hand at anything and everything, from hard SF to what I suppose would be classed as teen romance. Things changed when, at the age of 13, I read the Shannara books of Terry Brooks. Suddenly I realised that my real interest lay in fantasy and it’s in that direction that my writing has veered ever since.

So far, I’ve written four novels, with the first being completed when I was 16. Whilst a couple have been read by people other than myself, I’ve only considered trying to get one of them published. The others are probably better left forgotten by the world, although I have to admit that, personally, I remember them fondly. They weren’t great, but I certainly don’t cringe when I think of them.

As far as publication goes, only one story so far has made it into ‘print’ (well, an online magazine anyway). Mind you, it’s the only short story I’ve ever sent out, so that’s not bad going. It’s still available and you can read it here. It’s down at the bottom of the page.

So, what’s next in my writing life? Well, I’m currently working on a fifth novel, with the working title of ‘Clockwork’, the word count of which stands at this:

I’ve got a long way to go.

I’ve also got a few more short story ideas floating around in my head and a few written ones which I need to go back to. You never know, they might actually make it into print one day.

Comments are closed.

